Pernille Hughes – Author Announcement

Award-winning digital first publisher HarperImpulse are thrilled to announce the acquisition of exciting new romantic comedy Sweatpants at Tiffanie’s by debut author Pernille Hughes. Editorial director Charlotte Ledger bought World English Language rights for two books from Federica Leonardis at Martin Leonardis.

The knockout romantic comedy of the year, Sweatpants at Tiffanie’s is a hilarious, feel-good novel for fans of Mhairi McFarlane and Jo Watson. It follows Tiffanie Trent, who has just been dumped by her boyfriend of ten years but finds out she has inherited the boxing gym where she has been book-keeper for the last decade. With her saggy trackies and supermarket trainers, everyone is certain she’ll fail, most of all Tiff herself. And life is about to get even more complicated when her ex, international boxer Mike ‘The Assassin’ Fellner, comes back to town, more gorgeous than ever. Can Tiff step up and roll with the punches, or will she be down and out at the first round?

Pernille (pronounced Pernilla) studied Film & Literature at uni and took her first job in advertising, having been lured by the temptation of freebies, but left when Status Quo tickets was as good as it got. After a brief spell marketing Natural History films, she switched to working in Children’s television which for a time meant living in actual Teletubbyland, sharing a photocopier with Laa-Laa.

Now, she lives in actual Buckinghamshire, sharing a photocopier with her husband and their four spawn. While the kids are at school she scoffs cake and writes Rom Com stories in order to maintain a shred of sanity. Her writing has been printed in the Sunday Times, the fabulous Sunlounger summer anthologies and now in her debut novel Sweatpants at Tiffanie’s.

Federica Leonardis said: ‘Pernille and Sweatpants at Tiffanie’s are a dream come true for me. Pernille has a terrific talent for spotting what’s inherently funny in any situation and the ability to translate that into storytelling. I’m convinced her novels herald a great phase for the romantic comedy genre, one made of inspirational and entrepreneurial heroines with original careers and with the dreams and challenges that modern women experience in the 21st century, without ignoring the desire for romance and a swoon-worthy love interest.

Charlotte Ledger said: ‘I’ve been desperate to read a fresh, funny and new voice in rom com and from the very first page Pernille’s writing made me smile. Tiff is up there with Bridget Jones – she’s a heroine you truly root for and can relate to. I wish she was real so we could be friends!’

Pernille said: ‘I’m ridiculously excited to be published by Harper Impulse. Rom Coms are all about the feel-good factor and I’d love Sweatpants At Tiffanie’s to bring smiles and laughter to readers.’

 

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *